ISO 9001. Quality management

ISO 9001 is the most popular management system standard in the world and over 1.000.000 organizations worldwide are certified to ISO 9001. It defines the requirements for a QMS (Quality Management System) and can be implemented by any organization, regardless of size or activity.


RIGCERT provides accredited ISO 9001:2015 certification that ensures global recognition and demonstrates your commitment to fulfil requirements accepted at international level.


ISO 9001. The standard

First edition was published in 1987 and it was based on the requirements of a British standard (BS 5750).

From its first publication this standard has been revised four times – in 1994, 2000, 2008 and, most recently, in 2015. Standards revision is a normal process, meant to keep them relevant for the changes in technology, business environment and international trade.

ISO 9001 is in fact part of a family of standards that also includes ISO 9000 (standard that defines vocabulary, principles and fundamentals of quality management), ISO 9004 (applicable to organizations that want to use quality management in the pursuit of sustainable success), ISO 19011 (a guide for auditing management systems) or ISO/TS 9002 (published in 2016 as guidelines for the implementation of a quality management system).
Starting from the requirements of ISO 9001 other standards have been developed to define quality management requirements for specific industries. Some examples are ISO/TS 16949 (today IATF 16949 for the automotive industry); ISO 13485 (for the manufacture, storage, distribution, installation and service of medical devices); AS 9100 (specific to the aerospace industry) or ISO/TS 29001 (for the oil and gas sector).

ISO 9001 certification

Being applicable to any kind of organization, ISO 9001 has been adopted by more than 1.000.000 entities around the world as shown by the ISO Survey.

The standard can be implemented and certified in state institutions, private companies or not for profit organizations.

ISO 9001 can be implemented and certified individually or integrated with other management system standards (most common choices being ISO 14001, OHSAS 18001 or ISO/IEC 27001).


If you are interested in certification please contact us at

If you want to understand the requirements of this standard and how they can be implemented and audited you can check out our online course on this page.

To review your knowledge of ISO 9001:2015 you can take the simple quiz below.


Get in touchs with us!

Test your knowledge with the ISO 9001:2015 quiz!

Take the quiz

Which are the components of the P-D-C-A cycle?
What represents a requirement determined as not applicable to the QMS as per ISO 9001:2015?
Which of the following can be considered post-delivery activities according to ISO 9001:2015?
What is the frequency for internal audits required by ISO 9001:2015?
Which of the following statements is true?

1. What is the relation between environmental aspects and impacts?
2. Which statement is true according to ISO 14001:2015?
3. The corrective action is?
4. As per ISO 14001:2015 compliance obligations refer to:
5. For determining environmental aspects purposes, the life cycle of a product may include stages like:

1. The occupational health and safety policy
2. What represents a “near-miss”?
2. OHSAS 18001 requires:
4. Which of the following statements is false?
5. As per OHSAS 18001 the health and safety of visitors to the workplace represents the responsibility of the organization?

1. What represents the Statement of Applicability?
2. In case the same person is responsible for both initiating and approving specific transactions, what information security control is not respected?
3. In case the organization decides to outsource software development does it have any responsibility to monitor the activity of its subcontractor(s) in terms of information security?
4. The decision to accept a security risk represents an option for treatment?
5. What is the principle of independence related to internal audits referring to?